Welcome To aBlackWeb

IP360 PRESENTS: THE OFFICIAL CREDIT AND HOUSE HUNTING THREAD

b4s_MANSION080613_11260689_8col.jpg
Salutations folks.

Yours truly has been house hunting for the past couple months. I'm not an expert on this, which is why I created this thread. So I will be posting links of potential houses near my area, and would like YOUR opinions.

Feel free to drop any housing advice you may have. As well as your own personal house hunting experience. Hell, for those who are currently looking for new homes, post up your potentials. Maybe we can help. What do you look for in a home?

Avoid a north facing garden, or negotiate a discount if the house has one.

Is it a forever home or just a starter home?

ASK A BUNCH OF QUESTIONS

• Dont be afraid to walk away if you want something done by the current homeowners and they making it seem like you're being difficult.

• check floodplains for the area...might not be an issue where you lay, but here?? they say you not in a flood zone, until your home is 4 ft under water

• Check drainage. Again, might not apply to you, but i had no idea the backyard had no where to drain water, so it pools after heavy rains making it difficult to cut grass after a day or so b/c its so muddy

• check the attic thoroughly

• check the age of the AC unit. Mine currently is about 16 yrs old, but to my surprise, it is in pretty damn good condition and is pumping a lot of pressure throughout the house

• Look into American Home Shield. I'll explain more in detail if you want, but basically, you can get plans that cover the replacement of certain appliances in the event they go out, and even if you have to pay a deductible, its still cheaper than you paying full price to replace stuff.

• I dont think you having kids anytime soon lol, but check local school districts.

• check property taxes

i'll add more as i think of them