Welcome To aBlackWeb

Have you made a detrimental mistake on the job

loud-ninja

Here to point out the illogical
Was there a time that you made a huge detrimental mistake while at work? Could be a past job. Or, have you witnessed a coworker who made the mistake? If so, what was the consequence of the mistake.

I cant name the place of business but I was a contractor and i worked with other contractors and government folks. Everyone has accounts to access the computers and profiles to access the email. One day, me and my coworkers had issues logging in. We call the help desk and even they could not log on. Now you got the government folk involved and some of the higher ups because they cant log in. Turns out, our accounts were deleted by dude. He accidentally did it. 1000s of accounts. Man, we were down for hours. They let dude go on the spot. Our accounts were able to be recovered.

I shit you not, 2nd week of training at my current job, which is at a very popular, Fortune 100 company, this nigga mistakenly emailed his mixtape to not only the entire training class, but the entire department.

That nigga ain't even make it the rest of the day. They came and got homie outta the training class and sent him home.

I made a mistake at my last contract. This was my first year on the job. I was doing network engineering. I went to do a survey/meeting for a customer to get her requirements. She needed a new switch to connect more computers. The switch had to be copper/rj45. So I put in the order to Cisco. Bout a month later, I get the switch. I unbox it and my heart sank. I ordered the wrong switch. It was a fiber switch instead of copper. Mind you, Cisco switches can start at $15,000. Didnt tell my leads. Asked a coworker for help. Told me to get an end of life switch out the warehouse. Did just that, and installed it. Thankfully, the customer doesnt know anything bout switches and Doesnt receive the paperwork. Bosses never found out.