Welcome To aBlackWeb

The Ice Cube Appreciation Thread

5 Grand

Old School Godfather
I've noticed that Cube doesn't get the respect that I feel he deserves.

1. First of all, he basically invented gangsta rap, which was DEVASTATING TO THE EAR when it came out. Listen to PSK, 6 In The Morning, and 9MM Goes Bang and then listen to the song Straight Outta Compton. Part of the appeal was the beats, for which Dr Dre gets props, but he (co)wrote Eazy's rhymes and his own rhymes. Eazy's first album came out in the fall of 88, when I was a sophomore in high school. Straight Outta Compton came out a couple of months after iirc.

(on a side note, Three Feet High & Rising came out a month or so after Straight Outta Compton so both albums were out at the same time and they were polar opposites. NWA was in your face, violent and hardcore. De La Soul was more laid back and down to Earth. When it's all said and done, both albums are 5 mic classics for different reasons)

2. When he left NWA, he dropped his first solo album in the same summer (89) as 100 Miles & Runnin, No One Can Do It Better, Unfinished Business, Fear Of A Black Planet, Ghetto Music: The Blueprint of Hip Hop and Youngest In Charge. Point being there was alot of albums to compare to Amerikkkas Most Wanted. He had the Bomb Squad production, which was comparable to Fear Of A Black Planet which was out at the same time. But in my opinion he was a better "songwriter" than his competition. Meaning, he would think of a concept and write a coherent song about that one topic, rather than just bragging about being the best MC with the best flow.